Writers who don’t write, phantom ghosts, a writing request and the lack of the Oxford comma.

Lo! For I have uploaded another short story.

As promised, Ghost Ship has been uploaded and placed in the growing library of Works of Fiction. I think that this is one which I’d actually like for people to ask or discuss. I like to think that I know what it’s about, but what I would really enjoy is to hear what other people make of it.

I did plan to throw it up here a lot earlier today, but things of multiple happeningness happened with plural aplomb. Namely video games. I regret nothing – Witcher II is intelligently written, I’ve got to say; rarely do I ever play a fantasy game (or any other video game for that matter) that has such an excellent script. I recall one game called Two Worlds. What an utter pile of shidfungdungus. Everyone spoke in what I’d assume would be the knock-off, broken Shakespearean old English that you find in the United States’ “Renaissance Fayres”. Witcher II doesn’t. Thank feth.

It doesn’t feel as though the script in many video games feels fine tuned in the writing. All too often it feels like it’s written for the sake of pointing players in the right direction and just a little bit of spice is spread amongst it to give a basic rundown of what could otherwise be a rich and diverse world. The Elder Scrolls and The Witcher mark themselves out from other games like the awfully written Two Worlds.

It’s nice to hear NPC or background characters talk about mundane things. Such things as their shopping lists or something about the weather rather than something fantastical. Call me boring, but not everything in a fantasy world has to be magickal or something about vampyrs. Unless it’s incredibly relevant – there are times when characters should talk about these things. A character who’s had their family bludgeoned by trolls is likely to talk about this and even moreso than talking to their neighbour about local gossip. I love the idea that the world’s setting is actually another world and not something that just serves as the plane in which you’re a character playing a game. It’s obvious that you’re a person playing a game, yes, but a good level of immersion helps blur that line in which exists the level of disbelief that would otherwise serve for you to say ‘this game is XYZ’ over ‘that guy’s a twadborough’.

Sorry. I really feel strongly about poor writing. Writers should know when things read out poorly and just end up contrived and… melodramatic.

It would be utterly amiss of me to just blame the writers though. Poor voice acting and the lack of diversity in those actors, coupled with poor writing can make things utterly abysmal. Elder Scrolls: Oblivion is a fiend for the voice acting. There are good voice actors in there – Sean Bean and Patrick Stewart are always dosset in their tones – yet talking to four or five people who are clearly different and they each have the same voices, tones and nuances in their speech is incredibly frustrating. I can only point towards the amount of complaints and jokes amongst the Oblivion fandom that are evidence towards this.

Hopefully my own writing won’t sound/feel like this when you read it. I really hope that my dialogue doesn’t show me up in the same way as this. Please let me know if it does! I’m going to need to have it pointed out if I miss it; I can look and search for it and rectify it if needs be, but that’s only if I spot it. Another pair of eyes might spot something that I don’t.

I don’t want to come up as a bad writer when what I want to do is write. I want to be good at what I do and not an unpaid and unskilled writer who can only end up writing at the level of Stephanie Meyer.

On another note, I have no plans for another short story. Now is the time for you lovely people to interact with me and tell me what genre you want me to write. I’ll get back to you with another post on Sunday.

Now if you don’t mind me, D&D awaits me. Krunk is getting bored.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

