They Say That There’s a World Outside.

“Over the next week I’ll be selectively, as professionals say, “sitting my arse down” and working.

In fact, November is pretty much going to be a working month as part of…”

The above is what I wrote as a draft on the 31st of October. I said that I’d sit myself down, along with my arse, and work, work, work through most of November just to write a novel.

November was to become Novelmber. Novelember. November. Novowritingember. Noprocrastonatingember.

NaNoWriMo is National Novel Writing Month. It wasn’t going to be my whole November though. I had some plans that pretty much made it impossible for me to actually commit to a solid month of writing. I didn’t think it bothersome, since my original intention was to write when I could. I wasn’t going to be fully engaged in NaNoWriMo since the rules are far too rigid for me to follow with my plans – it was my birthday on the 5th, so you can imagine how writing on that day would have gone in the first place.

Still, I’m seeing quite a few people on my Facebook feed utilising NaNoWriMo as a tool to write; I’m seeing people overcome various degrees of Writer’s Block, people actually putting aside time to write, and even people who, although haven’t been writing full time and as part of NaNoWriMo completely, start up writing at various times just so that they could write what they have in their heads.

I’ve had one friend complain to me about Writer’s Block before, but he never sat down to write because he didn’t quite feel the ambition there. NaNoWriMo, at this glance, is a fantastic psychological tool that is helping people overcome their issues with not writing, even if they’re not completely taken up with writing over a thousand words a day, they’re still dedicating so much work towards finally writing what they’d wanted to write.

A lot of people feel like it’s not worth writing for various reasons, or they suffer from something that stops them from writing – from what I’ve seen, a lot of people need a push or a deadline. For me, deadlines work immensely well and poke my creativity into actually doing something called work.


Everybody has at least one good book in them. I’m hoping that those of you who are taking part in NaNoWriMo take full advantage of what it’s helping you do. Even if you don’t finish during the time constraints that the movement has set out, you’ve still taken that step around or over that problem that may have stopped you in the first place. Maybe it’s not even a problem that withheld you from writing.

Either way, at the end of the month you’ve got a good chunk of what you intended to start writing. Hopefully you’ll finish it too. :3

Hopefully I’ll finish it too. I’m not using NaNoWriMo as such, but I’m going to be using the drive to continue typing out.

So keep your kettle close and your teabags closer. There’re thousands of worlds out there, and many more in books.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

