Solitude and Irony. Attempt #2

Recently I posted an almost completely unedited post about how difficult it can be to write in a completely distracting environment. I rather briefly sketched out the notion that in being distracted you’re taken away from whatever you’re doing and it becomes postponed for a varying period of time.

The title pretty much told you what had happened. The sheer irony in the title became literal in which it inevitably became a buggering thorn in my side. I became distracted to the point where I had to abandon what I was trying to do because I didn’t have that sufficient amount of time to completely immerse myself in the work that I was trying to commit to, which is an exercise I briefly touched upon too and will again soon.

Soon being now; it’s a common concept that in anything that you want to commit yourself toward doing you should first set aside the time in which to do it. That’s not always possible but largely, in the endeavour of doing something that one wants it’s almost always a case of making the damned time for yourself to do itWith that said, it’s also believed that in order to immerse yourself you need to concentrate on the endeavour for a good ten minutes without being interrupted. It’s easy to say that in a disruptive environment it’s largely difficult to do that.

The sad fact of the matter is that so many distractions wave their arms at us in the corners of our lives seemingly no matter where we go. For a brief example I’m currently typing this up on a computer (which you might have guessed, you sterlingly sly super-sleuths, you) and I’m being distracted by Farcebook, Tumblr and Outlook in the tabs and Skype at the bottom of my screen.

If I hadn’t taken ten minutes to sit and start working on this post then I would already be stuck in the trap of scrolling through Tumblr for the next twenty minutes and having a little crisis at the end over the idea of not writing anything. It’s difficult, and I really really can’t blame you if you do the same thing.

On that note it can be very difficult in modern culture. We currently live in a world where entertainment is not only big business but practically a standard of living for us. To that end we have umpteen hundred colourful bright lights all jostling for our attention as we most commonly decide that the easiest way to do things is best and we sit back as we look at what Gaz, Baz, Taz and Daz had for their blasted breakfasts in an album framed with that shade of blue that keeps us up until four in the morning because we… because we…

…Because for some reason we just need to look at this new picture from that photography/cosplay/cooking blog rather than sitting our arses down and doing something practical for ourselves.

Ultimately we can all be subject to being distracted by our want to do something.

Right now I’m a hermit, writing this post away from other homosapiens and off any Skype call. Right now I’ve got a playlist, erm, playing in the background, my headset is on and I can’t hear anything but that. Facebook and Tumblr are open, sure, but I actually don’t recall the last time I opened them this evening (which is down to my own poor memory, really).

Right now, nothing is distracting me. I’m relatively at peace and I concentrated on writing this blog post for a good few minutes and now I feel as though I can’t stop.

I’ll have to stop though. I don’t think you’d want to hear me blather on and repeat myself for the rest of eternity. My voice wouldn’t make a good narration of the afterlife. I think Morgan Freeman would do well at that though. His voice would make the crying babies and stale coffee of Limbo actually entertaining.

A lot of helpful articles from other writers online have given what I’ve said here as advice. I certainly recommend it though. Being distracted is smegging horrendous and has led me, in the past, to agitation, irritation, bouts of passive aggression, grumpy lumpy grumps, and has sometimes influences an increase of triggers for misophonia.

I have said that I’m not going to turn this blog into a journal of my issues, but misophonia is a horrendous mental issue that I have to deal with and I’ve often been distracted by that too; just one or two certain noises and I feel as though I’ve had a syringe pressed into my brain. It’s enough to make me stare knives at the perpetrator, cutting me off completely from my train of thought. The consequences of the flight or fight responses are another story though.

This is why I find solitude in writing helpful. It allows you to sit and correlate your mood and actions into a speartip and finally get things written down. I can’t relate to you just how helpful it can be to secrete yourself away like rats in the walls and just get things done rather than just sitting there, letting the scroll of your mouse echo through the room or have your attention jostled between third parties whilst your little flashing line on the blank screen gets neglected.

This post isn’t to say that I can’t work with others. On the contrary – I work very well with a team and I continue to do so to this day*. I adore the exercise of bouncing ideas back and forth a small group of people (something I love passing the time with with Pocket Universe, and severely look forward to doing so with whiteboards present) and the satisfaction of coming to the pique of a project with a group is amazing to feel – when it’s finished or just watching it come to fruition is a sight to behold. I love it, even the mere thought of stirring up excitement between some people is making me giddy. 😛

This is something that I’ve needed to get off of my chest for a week or so without realising it until I tried writing my last blog post. Since then it’s been a case of frustration at trying to push aside the distractions and make some time and effort for it.

Now, sitting in my room with Skype being all orangey-glowy with a notification, I’m actually doing something about what I wanted to do.

The sad truth of the matter is that it’ll all happen again, and a lot sooner than I’d like to think.

I’d like to think that my expressions and “advice” here go so far into helping someone else out there. It’s nice to know that someone else out there knows what you’re going through. Validation is extremely important. You can’t be the only one, right?

+      +      +

* They need to pull their weight though. If they say that they’re going to work with me or even turn up to do so then they really need to do so. Otherwise I’ll either continue working and abandon them and their name from the project, or let them both rot, leaving that person to look at the abandoned piece even a year after they said whatever about it and never showed up again.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

