No Power in the ‘Verse Can Stop Me. Except This… and That. You Can Do It.

Update time!

NaNoWriMo is by far failed. By any standard that others had set themselves I’ve drastically fallen short and I’m sure that you can tell by now that I’ve failed even my own standards.

Not a huge surprise, no, and ultimately there’s nothing to blame but myself and everything else that happened.

Between illness and bad scheduling I’ve been kicked back so many times these last two weeks and not much of a word count has come out of it. I’m seeing people racking up thousands of words per day and so far my count has barely even made it past a dozen.

Eleven thousand, I have to point out. Which I guess isn’t bad as averaging out as little under a thousand per day, so maybe I’m just selling myself short.

Although I’m not having much success with this I’m seeing a lot of other people succeed much more, erm, successfully (how many times can I successfully stick that word into a sentence?). More power to those people. If you’re one of those people, I bow to you and your discipline.

If you’re not and you’re more in a boat like mine then you have my sincerest sympathy. Really. I understand how shit it feels to sit there, more than likely while your mind wanders whilst you’re committed to doing something else, thinking about how much more creative work you’d be doing for your stories if you just came away from that thing.

Sadly, it’s probably something that you have to do and real life is important. What you’re doing instead of writing might just be so important that you can’t take your hand away from it. That important thing needs your attention so please, take a moment to think about how you’re doing something productive for someone else, or perhaps that it’s something productive for you, to help you carry on.

If it’s for someone else then I hope they realise just how important you are, or just how much you do for them. You’re amazing.

So you might fail NaNoWriMo. That’s okay. I will too, but I hope you realise that there are eleven other months in the year that you can do it on your own terms, where you might just have more power.

You can do it.

There are people who believe in you.

15057920_10157873638760093_743966589_n

My cat believes in you and she likes to sleep in a plastic bag in her bed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

